Pembroke School

The School was established in January 1974 through the amalgamation of Girton Girls' School and King's College, a school for boys. The founding schools were small, neighbouring, independent schools of quality and have a combined history dating back to 1915. Pembroke School is non-denominational and has a philosophy that is based on Christian principles.

The School motto, Ex Unitate Vires - Out of Unity, Strength - reflects our historical origins, with the uniting of the two schools, and our belief in the value of co-education.

Pembroke School Aims:

  • To offer our students the means to develop a broad and deep knowledge base thus enabling them to act effectively as well-informed citizens.
  • To create a dynamic learning community which encourages self-management, curiosity, intellectual rigour, enjoyment, innovation and the realisation of each individual's potential.
  • To facilitate the social, physical and emotional development of each student emphasising personal growth, integrity, respect for differences in people, resilience, an appreciation of the environment, a sense of social responsibility and care for others.
  • To encourage the exploration of students' spiritual values and their power to make ethical decisions.
  • To promote thoughtful, respectful and informed participation in the community locally, nationally and internationally with an emphasis on seeking justice for all.

The Pembroke School Principals since 1974 are as follows:

Mrs Diana Medlin and Mr John Moody (Co-Principals) 1974 - 1978
Mrs Diana Medlin AM 1979 - 1990
Mr Malcolm Lamb AO 1991 - July 2010
Mr Luke Thomson July 2010 - present

(Select a photo below to view gallery).